Off The Computer and Into The Streets

This is the time of year where everyone does their “year in review” of whatever they are interested in. I thought I’d do something similar but, for me, this has been a different kind of year. This year has been one of personal self discovery and evolution. Many of you have come along with me for the ride, some have just followed along via Facebook and Twitter. Maybe some of you are going through a similar journey.

Early in the year, I opened a Facebook and Twitter account under the incognito name of “Edward Davis”. That’s the name I used for this blog initially as well. I did so, simply so that I can follow and share information related to the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell repeal effort. For those who don’t know, I personally experienced the suffering caused by DADT.

As I began this part of the journey, all of the old emotions from my days in the Army came back. I became withdrawn from the real world. I almost feared going to sleep for the nightmares I had been having and I became snippy with the people around me.

As a sort of personal therapy, I began this blog to write down some of the things from my past that were surfacing. It didn’t take long before people started reading about my story. People from around the country and around the world started reading along as well and I became connected to activists within the LGBT community.

Jay Morris of Jaysays.com had become a friend on both twitter and facebook and we’d been following each other’s blogs and interacting via social media quite heavily. When he told me that Austin was having a Harvey Milk Day celebration and rally and that he would be there, I instantly wanted to attend. I really wanted to meet Jay and experience something beyond your average gay pride parade.

Unfortunately, I didn’t think that my other half would go for it. We are very open and honest with one another about everything but, politically we have different view points. When I finally sat down and talked to him about what I wanted to do and why he saw the passion that I had for this and was very much supportive. He even attended with me!

We rallied outside of Austin city hall, marched down Congress Ave and rallied again outside of the State Capital Building. It was amazing and empowering! I learned of the struggle from Civil Rights leaders who were actually around in the 60’s and how it ties into our current struggle for full equality under the law.

From that moment on, I vowed to be a part of the solution. We must, everyone of us, be treated as full humans under the law. We are not going to get there by sitting on our asses and complaining to our computer screens.

Locally, in Austin, we have a number of different organizations that advocate and rally for LGBT and equality related causes. I’ve since attached myself to a few of them and joined in on some of the rallies that have happened.

Honestly though, it’s GetEQUAL that has had my attention and the attention of many people within the LGBT community.

Through following their actions, I’ve become more and more aware of what is going on in the movement and where we are lacking in equality. I’ve also become more aware of my own lack of initiative. And so, I began to organize events myself.

This, of course, is something a year ago I would never have seen myself doing.

It’s been an amazing transformation, I’ve made friends who believe in the things that I do and I’ve made a few enemies along the way too. All in all, I’ve found out so much about myself. I’ve reshaped my hopes and dreams for a brighter future for all Americans and vowed to help in making a difference by living each day for the betterment of my fellow human.

I welcome anyone in the area who is looking to get involved to contact me.

It’s time that we in Texas have stood up as well and joined the movement for a better America.
Please join me in getting off the computer and into the streets!

Until next time, I’m out!

About Michael Diviesti

I'm a brother, a son, an uncle, a musician, a software engineer and hopefully soon the law will allow me to be a husband!
This entry was posted in equality, LGBT. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Off The Computer and Into The Streets

  1. Michael McKeon says:

    You go Baby. You’ve the right idea.

    THANK YOU !!!!!!

    MICHAEL C. MCKEON
    LOS ANGELES

  2. alanbounville says:

    Way to go. Keep on marching!!!

  3. David says:

    YAY! You used my title idea. 🙂 Keep rocking, beautiful. We’ll definitely meet someday and raise a ruckus together.

  4. Jaysays says:

    I’m so glad you “came out” that October day and evwn more thrilled for your continued contributions to equality.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Off The Computer and Into The Streets | Michael Diviesti -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

