My son is gay (via Nerdy Apple Bottom)

I needed to share this with you all for a few reasons. My own personal journey in life has taught me so much about who I am as a gay man. More importantly, it has taught me who other people are.

The truth is, at the very core we are all made up of the same stuff. We have the same curiosities, concerns and so forth.

For parents and guardians they hold the same fears both for themselves and for their children.

My personal fears are simple.
I never worry about how an outfit will make me look. I worry about whether or not it will offend anyone or whether or not it will cause a gun to be pulled on me. Not that there’s much of that going on here but, it’s a concern depending on where I will be at the time.

We worry about a lot of things as adults. Some of us worry about what other people will think. My other half is sort of an example of that (less so since meeting me as I’ve rubbed off on him a little).

What is the great wisdom though that was shared here by “Nerdy Apple Bottom”?
Prejudice, hate, homophobia… it all comes from the adults in the room who should know better.

By the way, I never dressed up in women’s clothing and I turned out flaming gay. My brother (no, not the one that’s still in high school, the other one) dressed in women’s clothes and he turned out straight as an arrow. Of course, he’s also in jail for robbery so… I wonder if there’s a connection there? <– I kid, I kid… I know there's no connection.

Anyway, read this woman's story here. I'm sure it will shed some light on a lot of things for you.

Thanks
Mike

My son is gay Or he's not. I don't care. He is still my son. And he is 5. And I am his mother. And if you have a problem with anything mentioned above, I don't want to know you. I have gone back and forth on whether I wanted to post something more in-depth about my sweet boy and his choice of Halloween costume. Or more specifically, the reactions to it. I figure if I'm still irked by it a few days later, I may as well go ahead and post my thoughts. Here are th … Read More

via Nerdy Apple Bottom

About Michael Diviesti

I'm a brother, a son, an uncle, a musician, a software engineer and hopefully soon the law will allow me to be a husband!
This entry was posted in LGBT. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

